Bruins’ Dougie Hamilton penalized for playing puck while still in penalty box

Dougie Hamilton

During Thursday night’s Bruins-Kings game, won 4-2 by L.A., Boston defenseman Dougie Hamilton was returning to the ice following a tripping penalty when he decided to play the puck as it ricocheted down the rink and into the Kings zone following a Brad Marchand clearing shot.

Problem was, Hamilton was STILL physically in the box at the time, which is against the rules, as per the NHL rule book…

A minor penalty shall be imposed on any identifiable player on the players’ bench or penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play. In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.

Whether Hamilton knew the rule or not is debatable, but at the very least the guy could have used some common hockey sense and realized a) you rarely never see guys on the bench or penalty box play a live puck, and b) maybe trying to sneak a possible infraction past three nearby officials wasn’t the best plan.

Then again, this is a grown man who goes by the name Dougie, so that might explain things.

[Puck Daddy]

 

About the author: Jeff Greenwell

 

Jeff Greenwell is the writer/editor of Last Angry Fan. Jeff has been known to rock a Speedo while belting out Robert Goulet tunes from his front porch, and in his spare time he enjoys capturing and training feral goats to be his minions. Also known to dig a nice brick of cheese from time to time.

Website: http://lastangryfan.com

 

Editor's Picks

 
 

More Sports

 
 
 
 

Post of the Week

 
 
 
 

Facebook

 
 

Best Of The Web